50% Commission Rate for New Shops

Hi there! :slight_smile:

I am new to CM and just made my first sale. My earnings showed half of what the product cost. I was under the impression that CM retains 40% of the sale. Upon asking, I was told that any new shop joining Creative Market will now receive 50% commission from the sale of their products. It seems a bit high, and frankly a bit unfair too as not all shops are charged the same.

This increase in fees is supposedly for marketing efforts. Has anyone noticed an increase in views/sales by the recent commission rate changes?

Thank you!

4 Likes

Excellent question! That is really steep, and no I’m not 100% sure exactly what’s caused it or why. With my shop specifically I’ve seen a steady decline in both traffic and revenue. 2020 was really great for traffic and 2021 traffic basically look like this \ from the start of the year to the end (except in November/December because of Black Friday sale). I’m not sure exactly where advertising dollars are going but I do hope something changes in the near future.

Good luck with your new shop!

5 Likes

Thanks so much for your input @1871_Project! :slight_smile: Agreed, hopefully something does change in the future and we get to see actual results for this increase in marketing spend.

2 Likes

@FontsAvenue my be due to tax amount cutting that seems 50%

1 Like

@Khushbugohil That’s what I initially thought, but when I asked Customer Support, they confirmed that any new shops that join CM will now receive 50% commission vs the previous 60%.

1 Like

@FontsAvenue ohhh😳 50% + tax
This is something new…not sure where they announced this :thinking:

3 Likes

that‘s awful. 50 % :astonished:

2 Likes

Hi @FontsAvenue - when I opened my shop this spring on CM it was 40%. And on another marketplace that I opened a shop on around the same time was 50%…so that % isn’t completely out of whack.